My new kitchen

Reno planning has begun, and my favourite project by far is the kitchen. I’m looking to keep the mid-century look we have now: white cabinets, blue & yellow tile & accents, chrome fixtures.

My kitchen. Original cabinets - 1949. Friend's face blurred for her privacy.

Current kitchen tile floor. Original.

I don’t have a huge budget, but I have enough to make it work. I think. I have gathered a few cabinet quotes, countertop & tile samples. I think this is coming together. With a cabinet sketch from Home Depot, and the help of an underused design tool – good ol’ Microsoft Paint – here’s a sketch of my future, bigger kitchen:

Fun! Well, the floor tile will be somewhat more muted. This looks like a clown’s workshop. There are only so many colours to choose from in Paint. Also, my windows are much bigger, and prettier.

Another view, not Paint-ed.

Note, the cabinets will be white, not grey.

Now I won’t be getting these particular cabinets, but a very similar style. And the tile backsplash will look something like this:

Possibly more like this. But with more white. Confused yet?

3 thoughts on “My new kitchen

  1. Oooh – I love the backsplash! Kitchen reno-ing is one of the next projects on the docket at our house. The current kitchen, with an (uggh) *pink* countertop has NO backsplash, and it’s nasty. One was apparently chosen, disliked, and never put up, and now it’s just too late – we need to start fresh with NOT pink countertops.

Leave a comment