2015 TBR Challenge – the official one

books

Well, I have taken a slightly different approach to my reading challenges this year. I simply gathered all the unread books* on my various shelves, and lined them up. I thought I might fill one shelf in the living room. I nearly filled two.

That is challenge number one. Read all of those books. Within that pile, I am selecting 12 (well, 14) for The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Roofbeam Reader. Since a part of that challenge is to also write and post a review, and excludes books published since January 1, 2014, I have narrowed my selections.

In no particular order, they are:

  1. King Leary by Paul Quarrington
  2. Ava Comes Home by Leslie Crewe
  3. The Imposter Bride by Nancy Richler
  4. Wonderous Strange by Leslie Livingston
  5. New York by Edward Rutherford
  6. Fatty Legs by Christy Jordan-Fenton and Margaret Pokiak-Fenton
  7. Loch Bras D’or by Margaret MacPhail
  8. The Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons
  9. As Long as the Rivers Flow by James Bartleman
  10. Maddadam by Margaret Atwood
  11. The Strangers’Gallery by Paul Bowdring
  12. The Tricking of Freya by Christina Sunley
Two alternates, just in case:
Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Highland Settler by Charles W. Dunn

I’m interested to see how dedicating my year to reading all the books I have not yet gotten to is going to play out. Why do I keep leaving them on the shelf in exchange for the new and shiny, or the old, worn-out comfort reads. Sometimes, I have a book to read for work or for book club that takes priority, but mostly it comes down to choices.Will I discover new comfort reads? Or discover why my instinct kept skipping these?

And if you are new here, or you’ve all forgotten how this works:

The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months).

Specifics:

1. Each of these 12 books must have been on your bookshelf or “To Be Read” list for AT LEAST one full year. This means the book cannot have a publication date of 1/1/2014 or later. Caveat: Two (2) alternates are allowed, just in case one or two of the books end up in the “can’t get through” pile.

2. To be eligible, you must sign-up on Roofbeam Reader’s blog. Books must be read and must be reviewed (doesn’t have to be too fancy) in order to count as completed. Your complete and final list must be posted by January 15th, 2015.

3. Every person who successfully reads his/her 12 books and/or alternates (and who provides a working link to their list, which has links to the review locations) will be entered to win a $50 gift card from Amazon.com or The Book Depository!

You can read the books on your list in any order; they do not need to be read in the order you have them listed. As you complete a book – review it, and go back to your original list and turn that title into a link to the review.

Visit The Official 2015 TBR Pile Challenge page for more details on how to enter.

*Did not include D’s books though we share shelving. Thought about it, but may try that next year.

3 thoughts on “2015 TBR Challenge – the official one

  1. Atwood!! Moore!! Great picks, and so many are new to me. I’m definitely interested in hearing about a few of these 🙂 Enjoy your reads!

Leave a Reply

