The year in review, and the year to come

What a year it has been. With a total of 59 posts, I still did not quite make my goal of reviewing “one book per week.” I was also perhaps a bit over-confidant at the beginning, reviewing the three Emily books, the Sevenwaters trilogy and the Hunger Games trilogy in single posts. It made sense at the time, as they were easier to review together. But I then missed 11 weeks though the year, three in a row while sick in March, and the others while reading the two killer books of the year: Moby Dick and Anna Karenina. Suddenly, the idea of banking a few reviews on books like those seemed smarter, and would have left me only five reviews short of my goal.
The most popular reviews of 2011, in order of popularity, were:
  1. Review: Barney’s Version
  2. The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follet
  3. Book Review and Giveaway: The Nymph and the Lamp
  4. Jane Eyre: book & film review
  5. Review: The Bishop’s Man by Linden MacIntyre
  6. Drive by Saviours by Chris Benjamin
  7. Come Thou, Tortoise
  8. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
  9. Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen
  10. A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin

I will again be attempting to post one book review per week through 2012 – with a better appreciation for how difficult it can be when other factions of life get busy. I have also taken the #50BookPledge through Harper Collins – which is exactly as it sounds, a pledge to read 50 books through the year.

To help me out with the blogging side, I am hoping to recruit a few guest bloggers. If you are interested in submitting a book review (or a few) please leave a comment below. You can do it right away, on a book you have already read or are currently reading, or set a deadline for yourself later in the year. I am happy to link back to your blog, if you have one.

Cheers, and happy new year!

7 thoughts on “The year in review, and the year to come

  1. I would LOVE to be a guest reviewer. I am almost finished the Wallander series, and once I do I’d like to review the books.

    Sally

  2. I’ll be a guest reviewer too – it would be fun! I was about to start a review of a book I just finished, so I’ll need a few days, but then it’s all yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

