An ambitious goal

This is something I have wanted to do for a long time. Both getting serious about saving, and the trip it will result in, but this year the stars are aligning to make it so.

My husband job has taken him away from home for an extended period. We plan to reunite sometime in mid-summer, on an African beach. That will be expensive enough.

On top of this, a combination of life events has led to some soul searching, and I really feel I need some time away. I want to experience something new, and give back a little. So my plan, if I can make it happen, is to stay on the African continent when our vacation is over, and do some volunteer work.

This will mean a leave of absence from work. So it certainly won’t be for long. A few weeks. Maybe as much as a month or two. Essentially, I will take whatever I can get approved – and afford. Because it will be without pay. While there is still a mortgage and many bills to cover.

I know it won’t be easy. $5000 is a lot of money to “find” in just over 5 months. Yet I know I can do it. A small part of me wants to set the bar higher. (The same part that convinces me to enroll in new classes, volunteer for boards of directors and take up running, all in one week. I’m learning to ignore that part of me.)

In partnership with a friend who is tackling her debt in 2010, I decided the best way to tackle this challenge was to blog about it – add some accountability.

So please, keep me accountable. Encourage me when you can. Provide ideas whn I need them. Tell me I’m full of sh*t when it is clear that I am.

It’s going to be a long 5 months. But I am looking forward to it.

One thought on “An ambitious goal

Leave a Reply

