Christmas party madness (and sadness)

This time of year is insane. And insanely fun. So many parties. So much to do. I missed the Ecology Action Centre’s Christmas Open House Tuesday because of a poorly timed dentist appointment. This afternoon, I am off to Clean Nova Scotia’s Open House, which I will leave early to get to my Book Club’s holiday meeting at Embrace Spa. I’m booked for a manicure and pedicure. Merry Christmas to me!
D. is at his unit’s Christmas party tonight as well. We may meet up around 9 or 10 pm for a drink somewhere downtown. Then tomorrow we’re off to NB for Christmas with the in-laws.
Sometime in all of this, I am going to have to remember I am a Master’s student on a 2-year plan. Ugh.
Speaking of students reminds me that this morning I ran into a classmate from last year. We were both in Ransom Myers’ Biological Modelling class. She is a PhD student in Biology at Dal, who is (was?) working with RAM. I found out last week how sick he was, and she didn’t have overly encouraging news. They are starting radiation therapy this week and hoping to stop the growth of the tumor, and possibly even shrink it, which might allow him to get his speech back. But that’s as much as they think they can do for him. It makes me so sad, that a man so smart, with so much to still offer the world, can be attacked through his brain, of all things. I confess it’s been a while since I’ve really prayed, but I think I should try it again, in his honour.

Leave a Reply

